Newdity:

What does it mean to standout in a city that is full of iconic inhabitants?

“My standards are I want to be one of them. I want to be an icon of appearance,” said R, a recent NYU graduate and active New York City artist.

Right now, New York’s downtown art and social scene is made up of people under thirty. R is among them. Directing a movie set to air this Fall on PBS, he attends hip parties at places like The Bowery Hotel because he’s curious about the other artists making headlines. But because he doesn’t carry his work with him when he goes out, R knows it’s important to cut to the chase and let people know right away that he’s one to watch and notice as an artist and individual with superb style. “My walking canvas is my body. I want people to know instantly so I don’t have bullshit with them. It sort of saves me time.”

Attempting to say everything without having to say anything, R has a specific image he wants to project when he goes out. “Old school Gap, early 90’s Paris, late 80’s Berlin, Steve McQueen, Choco-Chip Mint Ice Cream – the green kind. That’s about it.”

R achieves the naturally cool look that many people in New York want, but don’t always pull off with ease. That’s because looking cool is more than just appearing a certain way, it’s about having the attitude to match.  Wrapping up his views on style, R added, “The closer I get to effortless, the cooler I feel.”

With incentive to dress a certain way, I wondered if R had ever felt pressures about the way his body looked. “Well my hips are sort of girly,” he said, pointing to the curve in his waistline.  “But that has nothing to do with New York.”

One response to “Newdity:

  1. Newdity:
    September 15, 2009 · Leave a Comment
    What does it mean to standout STAND OUT in a city that is full of iconic MAYBE WRONG WORD inhabitants?
    “My standards are I want to be one of them NOT QUITE CLEAR WHAT ‘THEM’ REFERS TO,” SAID R, A RECENT NYU GRAD AND A TK KIND OF ARTIST. I want to be an icon of appearance.” [[NEED TO SPLIT QUOTE, SO CUT AND MOVE: said R, a recent NYU graduate and active New York City artist]]
    Right now, New York’s downtown art and social scene is made up of people under thirty. I THINK THAT’S DEBATABLE, BUT THEN I’M OLD. R is among them. Directing a movie set to air this Fall on PBS, he attends hip parties at places like The Bowery Hotel because he’s curious about the other artists making headlines. But because he doesn’t carry his work with him when he goes out, R (NEED TO EXPLAIN HIS APPARENT NEED FOR ANONYMITY, ODD IN A GUY WHO SEEKS FAME) knows it’s important to cut to the chase and let people know right away that he’s one to watch and notice as an artist and individual with superb style. ARE YOU SAYING THIS SUPERB STYLE THING FOR HIM, OR IS HE SAYING THAT? PHRASING IS A LITTLE CONFUSING. “My walking canvas is my body. I want people to know instantly so I don’t have bullshit with them. It sort of saves me time.” TOO VAGUE–IT WOULD BE BETTER TO GIVE US A SENSE OF WHAT HE ACTUALLY SAYS TO PEOPLE–HEY, I’M A FAMOUS PBS FILMMAKER, OR WHATEVER.
    Attempting to say everything without having to say anything, SO HE DOESN’T SAY ANYTHING, HE JUST DRESSES THE PART? IF SO, NEED TO SPECIFY THAT ABOVE. R has a specific image he wants to project when he goes out. “Old school Gap, early 90’s Paris, late 80’s Berlin, Steve McQueen, Choco-Chip Mint Ice Cream – the green kind. That’s about it.” OK, THAT’S HOW HE DESCRIBES IT BUT I DON’T GET MUCH OF A PICTURE. YOU NEED TO DESCRIBE IT FOR US. WHAT DOES HE LOOK LIKE, AND WHAT IS HE WEARING?
    R achieves the naturally cool look that many people in New York want, but don’t always pull off with ease. That’s because looking cool is more than just appearing a certain way, it’s about having the attitude to match.  Wrapping up his views OR YOUR VIEWS? PRECEDING SENTENCE SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS YOU TALKING on style, R added, “The closer I get to effortless, the cooler I feel.”
    With incentive to dress a certain way, I wondered if R had ever felt pressures about the way his body looked. “Well my hips are sort of girly,” he said, pointing to the curve in his waistline.  “But that has nothing to do with New York.”
    I DON’T QUITE GET THAT KICKER. IF BODY IMAGE IS THEME OF THIS PIECE, THEN IT NEEDS TO BE STATED UP HIGH. BUT RIGHT NOW THIS IS JUST A PROFILE OF AN AMBITIOUS, POSSIBLY INSECURE GUY WHO THINKS ALOT ABOUT HIS CLOTHES. WE NEED TO HEAR MORE ABOUT WHAT HE’S ACTUALLY WEARING.
    IN GENERAL, LET’S TRY TO REFINE IDEA OF WHERE YOU WANT TO GO WITH THIS–SHORT PORTRAITS OF INDIVIDUALS THAT GO WHEREVER THE INDIVIDUAL LEADS YOU, OR A PRECISE QUESTION YOU WANT TO RAISE WITH A LOT OF DIFFERENT PEOPLE?

Leave a Reply

