Where the Sidewalk Ends

This is the route I took both days while walking around the Bronx. The sidewalks were devoid of people both times.

This is the route I took both days while walking around the Bronx. The sidewalks were devoid of people both times.

I went up to Spuyten Duyvil in the Bronx, which is within Community Board 8. My primary story was on gentrification because every time I drove through the neighborhood, I always saw new glass buildings next to old brick buildings. However, when I got there, I found a different story. I got off at 225th St on the 1 Train where Marble Hill is, but I wanted to dig deeper than what was just across the Broadway Bridge.

When I looked west, I saw two large residential buildings, which looked like they could house over 150 tenants. I walked toward them and noticed a new story: there were barely any pedestrians. The cars were moving too fast to chase, but in such a residential area, why was no one walking around? I got to a playground at the top of Knolls Crescent, and saw some children playing, but the mother who saw me got nervous and told me to delete the photos off my camera while she watched.

I called the local community board to ask about pedestrian traffic (or the lack thereof) and got no response.

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

